The Death of Fourth America

Since it began as a series of European colonies in the 1600s, America has died and been reborn three times.

Every 60–80 years since the War of Independence America has gone through a distinct cycle of death and rebirth, separated by major conflicts.

  • First America, Colonial America, 1619–1776
  • Second America, Founders’ America, 1788–1861 (73 years)
  • Third America, Imperial America, 1865–1929 (64 years)
  • Fourth America, Postwar America, 1945–2021 (76 years)